Home All Groups Group Topic Archive Search About

New SQL Express 2005 ?

Author
14 Nov 2006 3:23 PM
Miro
Did anyone else get an email from Microsoft saying a new version of SQL 2005
Express is ready?

It came from an email that was from   @email.microsoft.ca
which makes me think that the email is not a legit email.

M.

Author
14 Nov 2006 3:52 PM
Robinson
"Miro" <miron***@golden.net> wrote in message
news:u7toyBACHHA.3836@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> Did anyone else get an email from Microsoft saying a new version of SQL
> 2005 Express is ready?
>
> It came from an email that was from   @email.microsoft.ca
> which makes me think that the email is not a legit email.
>
> M.

There is a service pack for it, published on 11/9/2006 - see below:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=11350B1F-8F44-4DB6-B542-4A4B869C2FF1&displaylang=en
Author
14 Nov 2006 5:10 PM
Miro
Yes I searched microsoft's site,
found that as well.

I dont click on email links - i always go to the site instead.

Just funny that they would send an email from  'email.microsoft.com'
instead from  'microsoft.com'

Thats why I was wondering if anyone else got the same email.

M.


Show quoteHide quote
"Robinson" <toomuchspamhaspassed@myinboxtoomuchtoooften.com> wrote in
message news:ejconn$t5o$1$8302bc10@news.demon.co.uk...
>
> "Miro" <miron***@golden.net> wrote in message
> news:u7toyBACHHA.3836@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
>> Did anyone else get an email from Microsoft saying a new version of SQL
>> 2005 Express is ready?
>>
>> It came from an email that was from   @email.microsoft.ca
>> which makes me think that the email is not a legit email.
>>
>> M.
>
> There is a service pack for it, published on 11/9/2006 - see below:
>
> http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=11350B1F-8F44-4DB6-B542-4A4B869C2FF1&displaylang=en
>
>
>
>
>
Author
14 Nov 2006 5:41 PM
rowe_newsgroups
I don't know if I got that one or not, but I get 3 or 4 supicious
emails a week from addresses claiming to be microsoft and asking me to
download an attached "high priority security update" or something
similar. I just delete them - it's not worth the risk opening them.

Thanks,

Seth Rowe


Miro wrote:
Show quoteHide quote
> Yes I searched microsoft's site,
> found that as well.
>
> I dont click on email links - i always go to the site instead.
>
> Just funny that they would send an email from  'email.microsoft.com'
> instead from  'microsoft.com'
>
> Thats why I was wondering if anyone else got the same email.
>
> M.
>
>
> "Robinson" <toomuchspamhaspassed@myinboxtoomuchtoooften.com> wrote in
> message news:ejconn$t5o$1$8302bc10@news.demon.co.uk...
> >
> > "Miro" <miron***@golden.net> wrote in message
> > news:u7toyBACHHA.3836@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> >> Did anyone else get an email from Microsoft saying a new version of SQL
> >> 2005 Express is ready?
> >>
> >> It came from an email that was from   @email.microsoft.ca
> >> which makes me think that the email is not a legit email.
> >>
> >> M.
> >
> > There is a service pack for it, published on 11/9/2006 - see below:
> >
> > http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?familyid=11350B1F-8F44-4DB6-B542-4A4B869C2FF1&displaylang=en
> >
> >
> >
> >
> >
Author
14 Nov 2006 6:18 PM
RobinS
I wouldn't think so, especially if it came from "email.microsoft.ca"
..ca? That's Canada.

Robin S.
----------------------------------
Show quoteHide quote
"Miro" <miron***@golden.net> wrote in message
news:u7toyBACHHA.3836@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> Did anyone else get an email from Microsoft saying a new version of SQL
> 2005 Express is ready?
>
> It came from an email that was from   @email.microsoft.ca
> which makes me think that the email is not a legit email.
>
> M.
>
Author
14 Nov 2006 7:24 PM
Miro
Yup... but me being in Canada I expect some emails from .ca

Just seemed well made.
Ive attached a quicky screenshot with a couply pasted images of the email in
this email if anyone is interested.

It came to my company account which I dont advertise anywhere.  Ill give it
that,  its a good job if it is a fake.
-And microsoft does have my company email for my vbexpress that I registerd.

Anway... Cheers... -Keep ur eyes open.  :-)

M.

Show quoteHide quote
"RobinS" <RobinS@NoSpam.yah.none> wrote in message
news:pJSdnRKmPrEZlcfYnZ2dnUVZ_vednZ2d@comcast.com...
>I wouldn't think so, especially if it came from "email.microsoft.ca"
> .ca? That's Canada.
>
> Robin S.
> ----------------------------------
> "Miro" <miron***@golden.net> wrote in message
> news:u7toyBACHHA.3836@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
>> Did anyone else get an email from Microsoft saying a new version of SQL
>> 2005 Express is ready?
>>
>> It came from an email that was from   @email.microsoft.ca
>> which makes me think that the email is not a legit email.
>>
>> M.
>>
>
>


[attached file: sqlserv.jpg]
Author
15 Nov 2006 12:48 AM
Dennis
Good Practice:  Never, Never download a file or give out any personal
information from an e-mail link...always go to the company's website directly
from your Favorites or google for it.
--
Dennis in Houston


Show quoteHide quote
"Miro" wrote:

> Yup... but me being in Canada I expect some emails from .ca
>
> Just seemed well made.
> Ive attached a quicky screenshot with a couply pasted images of the email in
> this email if anyone is interested.
>
> It came to my company account which I dont advertise anywhere.  Ill give it
> that,  its a good job if it is a fake.
> -And microsoft does have my company email for my vbexpress that I registerd.
>
> Anway... Cheers... -Keep ur eyes open.  :-)
>
> M.
>
> "RobinS" <RobinS@NoSpam.yah.none> wrote in message
> news:pJSdnRKmPrEZlcfYnZ2dnUVZ_vednZ2d@comcast.com...
> >I wouldn't think so, especially if it came from "email.microsoft.ca"
> > .ca? That's Canada.
> >
> > Robin S.
> > ----------------------------------
> > "Miro" <miron***@golden.net> wrote in message
> > news:u7toyBACHHA.3836@TK2MSFTNGP02.phx.gbl...
> >> Did anyone else get an email from Microsoft saying a new version of SQL
> >> 2005 Express is ready?
> >>
> >> It came from an email that was from   @email.microsoft.ca
> >> which makes me think that the email is not a legit email.
> >>
> >> M.
> >>
> >
> >
>
>
>
>